Zidane in charge of UEFA’s Breakthrough Team of 2016


Lifting the Champions League and UEFA Super Cup is enough for Zinedine Zidane to be named as the coach of UEFA’s breakthrough team of the year.

The Real Madrid boss takes to the sidelines of a 3-4-3 formation that is dominated by Bundesliga’s young stars, as Borussia Dortmund provide the most players; Ousmane Dembele, Christian Pulisic, and Raphael Guerreiro.

Two starlets come from both Barcelona and Bayern Munich, the Catalans’ defenders Sergi Roberto and Samuel Umtiti included as the only LaLiga players in the XI.

UEFA Breakthrough team of 2016:

Goalkeeper: Alphonse Aréola (Paris Saint-Germain)

Defenders: Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona), Victor Lindelöf (Benfica).

Midfielders: Thomas Lemar (Monaco), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern München), Renato Sanches (Bayern München), Raphaël Guerriero (Borussia Dortmund)

Forwards: Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), André Silva (Porto), Ousmane Dembélé (Borussia Dortmund)

Coach: Zinédine Zidane (Real Madrid)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *